New BOFC Commissioners

The Board of Fire Commissioners has appointed three new commissioners in the last few months. We welcomed Commissioner Alan Stameisen on November 21st, 2022, to fill the vacant seat left by Commissioner Shepler. Alan fills Seat #2 and will fulfill the unexpired term through December 2023. The public election will be held in the fall for him to fill the remainder of the 4-year term through 2027. Alan has been a volunteer firefighter and EMT with Orcas Island Fire & Rescue for many years. He is a certified CPR instructor and the Mobile Integrated Health (MIH) program director.

Our deepest gratitude goes out to Commissioners Christmas and Helminski for their work on the board. Due to his increased travel for work, Commissioner Christmas resigned as of December 1st, 2022. Commissioner Helminski decided to relocate off the island and announced that he would complete his service at the end of 2022.

The board appointed a new commissioner, Nick Negulescu, on January 17th, 2023. Nick fills Seat #3 until December of 2023 when the seat will be available for public election for a 6-year full term. He is a new resident of Orcas Island, moving in May 2021 from Lake Forest Park, Washington. He works full-time remotely as a Senior Software Developer and regularly travels to visit his daughter on the weekends. Nick looks forward to getting to know the community and working with the community to support the district’s goals and vision.

Finally, the board appointed Jim Biddick as the newest commissioner on March 20th, 2023. Jim will fill Seat #4 until December of 2023 as well. This seat is also open for a 6-year full term in the fall election. Jim has been a resident of Orcas Island since 2004. He has spent over 18 years volunteering with eh Orcas Island Lions Club, is the founder of the Raccoon Point Road Maintenance Association, and is the President of the Orcas Historical Society.

We want to welcome all of our new Commissioners! We appreciate your willingness to serve on the Board of Fire Commissioners for San Juan County Fire Protection District #2.

Scroll to Top