Board of Fire Commissioners

Tim Fuller, Chair

Tim Fuller is retired from a 40-year career in public service, working for the Cities of Saint Paul, Minnesota and Redmond, Washington. Tim joined the Saint Paul Fire Department (SPFD) in 1971. He rose from firefighter and paramedic through various chief officer positions, including SPFD’s first Chief of Emergency Medical Services, and was president of one of SPFD’s unions. In 1991 Tim was appointed Fire Chief and led the department for twelve years. As Chief, he hired SPFD’s first women firefighters and also established a labor/management team to guide the development of SPFD’s first-ever five-year strategic plan.

In 2005, Tim was appointed Fire Chief for the City of Redmond Fire Department (RFD), leading the department until 2011. During this time, Tim also served as interim Chief of Police, while the City conducted its search to fill the position permanently. Tim returned to Redmond in 2012 to serve for approximately a year as the Director of Public Works.

He has served on the boards of the International Association of Fire Chiefs and the National Fire Protection Association and currently serves as Vice President of the board of OPAL Community Land Trust.

Tim and his wife Martha have been homeowners on Orcas Island since 2006 and became fulltime Orcas Island residents in 2014.

Rick Christmas

Rick Christmas joined the Fire Commission in the winter of 2018.

Rick has been a resident of Orcas Island dating back to 1998. He is a member of Board of Directors for OPALCO , the San Juan County electric and broadband utility.

He is President at Christmas Consulting, which provides all aspects of operational training and development including staffing, strategic planning, and process improvement for corporate, institutional and governmental organizations.

He has served as Chief Information Officer and Senior Vice President at True Blue, which is a leading international provider of specialized workforce solutions.

Rick was also a founding member and CIO /Executive Vice President of Gentiva Health Services, the largest provider of home health care and related services in the United States.

As a Fire Commissioner, Rick wants to offer his experience and insights to serve OIFR and the public of Orcas Island to the best of his abilities.

Wesley Heinmiller

Wesley (Wes) Heinmiller has owned property on Orcas Island with his spouse, Alan Stameisen, for over 20 years. He has served on several boards within San Juan County, including Deer Harbor Plan & Review Committee as chair, SJC Marine Resource Committee, president of Driftwood Condominium Association, and past commodore of Orcas Island Yacht Club. He also serves as a charter member of the USCG Foundation. He presently holds a 1600 Ton Master Mariners License.

He strives to give back to his community in a manner that assists in improving quality of life for all community members. As a fire commissioner, he endeavors to offer the tools needed for OIFR to operate efficiently, effectively, and in a safe and respectful manner. He will strive to keep the public's safety and comfort first.

Jim Helminski

Jim Helminski joined the Fire Commission in April 2017. Prior to moving Orcas Island, Jim’s professional career was in operational emergency services and emergency services organizational management.

In July 2015, Jim retired as a Deputy Assistant Director of the U.S. Secret Service, providing executive oversight of human resources planning and policy development for the agency’s offices nationwide. Prior, Jim managed U.S. Secret Service operations in the Pacific Northwest as Special Agent in Charge of the Seattle field office. During his 27 year career with the Secret Service, Jim also served as Deputy Assistant Director of Criminal Investigations, and various operational and protective services supervisor on the protective details for Presidents Clinton and Bush and Deputy Special Agent in Charge for Vice President Biden.

Prior to his federal public service, Jim progressed through state and local government ranks as a police officer, detective, and founding captain of a mounted police unit.

Jim and his wife Teresa Patrick have owned a home on Orcas Island since 2006, and are pleased to now be permanent and contributing members of the community.

Janet Marlow

Janet Marlow joined the Fire Commission in July 2019 and brings over 20 years of organization-management experience with her.

Prior to moving to Orcas Island, Janet spent the bulk of her career with Tenaris, a global steel manufacturer primarily serving the energy industry. With an MBA in Operations & Logistics, she spent the first half of her career in Supply Chain roles, designing inventory-management programs and procedures. She then transitioned into Human Resources, managing employee training and development, with the aim of ensuring compliance to policy and procedure while fostering happy, productive, inclusive environments.

Now living on Orcas along with her husband Will Marlow, Janet works as the Administrative Services Coordinator for Orcas Island Public Library, coordinating budget, employee, and other administrative matters.  Through this role, she’s gained an appreciation for the rules of open government management as well as the responsibilities a junior taxing district has to the population it serves.

Janet is honored to have the opportunity to support the talented and dedicated team of OIFR.

Monthly Board Meeting

The BOFC regular meeting is held monthly at the Fire Hall and is open to the public. It's usually on the third Monday of each month, 5:30 to 7:00 p.m., but occasionally changes, especially if it falls on a holiday. Check our calendar for date and time.

Board Documents

Minutes and other board documents can be accessed anytime from our online repository or at BOFC meetings upon request.

Scroll to Top